Hobby Box Break – A & G 2016 -Gint-A-Cuffs VIII

2 x 3 Heroes recommended I join a fun little competition called Gint-A-Cuffs. This is the VIII installment and I believe the winner and the last place loser each will take home a shiny box of 2016 Allen & Ginter. Sign-up ended a few days ago and now I need to post the break of my 2016 A & G box, tabulate my score, and see how I fare in the battle. FIGHT!

IMG_0974

This is the first current year of Allen & Ginter for me. I think about 2-3 months ago the sets peaked my interest and I’ve decided to collect starting at 2011.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_0975

A player I collect! Awesome! This box loader puts me at 4 pts. I’ll have to check with the commissioner to see if I get a bonus since he’s on the Favorite Player List.

IMG_0976

My first card pulled. Simply design, thick card stock, and a newness for me give this set high marks in my book. Other’s have been collecting A & G for ten years and are not too impressed with this year’s design. I like it, though.

IMG_0977

Here are the base cards from my 1st pack. According to the rules pulling Rick Klein give me a negative point so I’m now at 3.

IMG_0979

Ist insert. This is a cool little set that lists players from the same team and other greats who wore the same number. No points for Gint-A-Cuffs, though.

IMG_0980

Each pack contains a mini parallel but this also provides no point adjustment.

IMG_0981

2nd pack base. No points.

IMG_0982

Here’s a SP. Also, worth 0 points.

IMG_0983

A mini US Mayors card gives me +2, though! I’m up to 5.

IMG_0984

Pack #3. Nothing to see here.

IMG_0985

Another SP. Moving on.

IMG_0986

+2 for the Natural Wonders insert. 7 points for me.

IMG_0987

The Reddick mini does me no good or evil.

IMG_0988

Pack the fourth. Hamels (which auto corrected to “camels”) is a favorite player. +2 points rocking’ me to 9 pts.

IMG_0989

Another SP.

IMG_0990

+2 for a Baseball Legends insert. I love these types of sets. This Ginter box goes to 11.

IMG_0991

And a Black-Bordered mini. +3 = 14 points.

IMG_0992

Pack Five. Schwarber is a Favorite Player. +2 = 16 points. I’m wishing I would have picked Cubs as my favorite team. I think I’ve pulled 5 or 6 already and each would have been worth an additional point!

IMG_0993

Another Number’s Game.

IMG_0994

And a Pope mini.

IMG_0995

6th pack. A Twin! Since I picked MN as my favorite team I get +1 for Perkins. 17 points.

IMG_0996

Yep.

IMG_0997

A & G back on this mini gives me a nice +2. And I’m going to stop there on this post. After 25% of the box I’m standing at a respectable 19 points.

This is fun!

5 thoughts on “Hobby Box Break – A & G 2016 -Gint-A-Cuffs VIII

  1. Like the Jays you pulled.

    Some of the inserts look interesting. I think I like those Natural Wonder cards as well as the Legends cards. The Numbers Game cards are interesting as well. I should look at the checklist.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Hobby Box Break – 2016 A & G part 2 – Gint-A-Cuffs VIII | addiction as therapy

  3. Pingback: Hobby Box Break – 2016 A & G part 3 – Gint-A-Cuffs VIII | addiction as therapy

Leave a Reply

