Hobby Box Break #8 – Topps 2001 Series 2

I’ve been dreading writing this post. My box of 2001 Series 1 was in pretty good condition. My series 2 box – not so much.

ALL of the cards were stuck together! I’m a set collector for the most part and I’m not too concerned with top condition cards but I’m guessing at least half of the cards I opened have significant damage. I threw away about 20 that were just horrible. Here’s an example.

2001 s2

Sigh. Here we go anyways.

IMG_0024

My box! Little did I know what awaited me.

IMG_0025

My first card. Most of the top cards are okay. Occasionally there was some damage to the back but I’m not too concerned with that as long as I can read all of the stats.

2001 s2 notes

The inserts seemed to turn out okay, though. There must have been a slightly different card stock or coating.

2001 s2 inserts

I’ve decided to collect the Topps Combos inserts. Since I’m a fan of Diamond Kings painted cards always draw me in. I’m not sure if these are actually painted or just have a photoshopped filter on them. Either way I like them!

2001 s2 golds inserts01

What Could Have Been inserts.

2001 s2 golds inserts

Before There Was Topps.

2001 s2 golds

Golds.

2001 s2 auto

I did get an Auto! Mr. Durbin had a 14 year career but was never really a dominant pitcher. STATS.

2001 s2 ichiro

Sadness. This is the card I really, reALLY, REALLY wanted! As you can see it didn’t make it into my hands safely. It’s just cardboard but it’s still disappointing.

FINAL TALLY

316 of 385 base

30 inserts

37 doubles

1 auto.

Hopefully this is the only time I experience a box break of damaged cards.

My wantlist is up Here.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

