Hobby Box Break #13 – 2003 Topps Series 2

On to the second series!

IMG_0205

I never noticed the circled “H” on hobby boxes until a seller from Ebay pointed it out to me a few weeks back.

IMG_0206

You can sort of see some of the speckling from the stickiness of the cards. This box was much better than the last series’ but it was still a problem. I’m glad Topps changed the process in later years.

2003 s2 bb as

These are the Red Backs opposed to the series 1 Blue backs. Ichiro is a keeper for me but the others are available.

2003 s2 bb as01

Shiny. (Any Firefly fans reading this?) Only getting two in an entire hobby box does not motivate me to attempt to complete the insert set. I’ll probably be checking LIFETIME TOPPS PROJECT‘s wantlist and see if he needs them. Or I recently traded with CARDS MY MOTHER DIDN’T THROW OUT. He’s a Diamondbacks collector.

2003 s2 golds

More Golds! But no one I collect. It’s too bad because the design of this year’s set is so appealing to me! It’d would have been nice to pull a Pujols (HA! Say that outloud.) or an Ichiro.

2003 s2 hp

The backs of these cards show the Active Career Leaders in the category listed on the right side of the front. If not for the Juicers, Griffey would have probably topped each list. He’s listed as 5th on each.

2003 s2 rb

I really like this set. I think I will post my needs on wantlists.

FINAL TALLY

337 of 354 base

18 inserts

5 doubles

Another box with no “hit”.

No worries. It’s just cardboard.

Here’s my wantlist for the set. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

