Hobby Box Break #12 – 2003 Topps Series 1

Time to start a new set via a fresh box! Unfortunately, 2003 series 1 boxes still suffer from the curse of sticky cards. It wasn’t as bad as the 2001 cards but it still irked me.

IMG_0193

Here’s my first card.

IMG_0194

I wasn’t following baseball too closely back when this set came out so this is an unknown to me. Sorry about the glare!

LIFETIME TOPPS PROJECT does a great job of writing up the info for each year’s set. You can find the 2003 one here.

Here are the inserts I pulled.

2003 s1 rb

I love the Record Breakers because they included team records as well as league ones!

2003 s1 otg

Shiny but none of the players interest me. It is funny to see a pre-long-locks Damon!

2003 s1 bb hm

These are the Blue backs! Pujols is a player I collect but the others could be yours!

2003 s1 golds

Not too many Golds in this box. I pulled two Braves but one of them seems to have put the wrong uniform on.

2003 s1 bb hm01

You can see the bulk of Pudge next to the unjuiced Jeter. I don’t think I’ll be collecting these, either.

Final Tally –

339 of 366 base

16 inserts

6 doubles

There was no “hit” in this box but getting a near complete set and being able to enjoy opening the box for under $30 is well worth it my eyes.

Here’s my wantlist if you can help me complete the set!

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Hobby Box Break #12 – 2003 Topps Series 1

  1. Thanks for your extras! I got a replacement box for mine that was REALLY stuck, and it was a Jumbo (HTA) box. They were still pretty much stuck though. And to top it off, there was no relic or autograph in it either. Guess they were scarcer than one per box?

    Like

Leave a Reply

