Hobby Box Break #7 – 2001 Topps Series 1

When I first returned to card collecting my main goals were collecting Donruss Diamond Kings and completing Topps Base sets from my birth year(1979) to the present. My research for the base sets led me to the LIFETIME TOPPS PROJECT. That blog has been a great resource, excellent trading partner, and inspired me to finish the base sets the way God intended – by breaking boxes!

I ordered my hobby box for 2001 series 1 thru Baseball Card Exchange.

Here’s what I got –

IMG_0020

Nomar, Piazza, and Big Mac on the box.

IMG_0021

Shiny Gold packs for Topps 50th anniversary.

IMG_0022

My first card. I was warned that the cards might stick together and they certainly did. I don’t think any were too damaged, though. I love the look of the set. Topps did a great job of making the cards appealing with large action photos and nicely done foil stamping.

200104

I didn’t receive any truly exciting inserts. Here’s Roger.

200101

Griffey and Chipper both had great careers.

200103

Cool! A player I collect!

200102 2001

And two I don’t. The Golden inserts sure do look neat, though.

2001 reprints02 2001 reprints01 2001 reprints

Topps included reprints of a number of their past cards. I don’t think I’m going to collect them since I’d need the other 46 to complete the set.

2001 gold02 2001 gold01 2001 gold

I love painted cards! i think I’ll try to acquire the rest of these.

2001 gold03

Only three gold variants. No one too exciting. This year’s set looks incredible with the foil, though.

My final numbers are thus.

337 of 405 base.

16 inserts

7 doubles.

Here’s a link to my wantlist if you can help me out

2001 Topps

I also have a box of series 2 to break open. Hopefully I can post the results in a day or two.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Hobby Box Break #7 – 2001 Topps Series 1

Leave a Reply

