Dances With Trades #1 – Tatanka

When I first started to put some Topps sets together last year I stumbled across the Lifetime Topps Project during my search for info on the various subsets for each year. That blog was invaluable to me and I think it’s wonderful that I was able to complete my first trade online with the writer. I was able to fill in some of his wantlist and this is what he sent me back.

88 x4

I was able to get partial sets of 1987 and 1988 Topps from my sister and brother-in-law but there are still a few holes. Compared to the 2015 set, these cards look and feel archaic.

2015 x 3

I think this year’s set has received somewhat universal acclaim for its design. Seeing three different colored borders in this pic is truly appealing.

fv2

Fernando going strong in Dodger Blue next to him trying to fight back to the bigs in the complementary orange. I fell in love with Fernando after seeing the 30 for 30 film on him.

TM0768

My great respect for Bo Jackson also came about after seeing his 30 for 30.

30for30_BO_2-560x315

Lifetime Topps threw in several Bo cards I didn’t have.

bo4

I just realized Bo and Fernando are two guys who attempted to fight back after declining from their peak. That’s something everyone who goes through heart surgery attempts to do as well!

bo topps gold

I hate seeing him in a White Sox uniform but this is such a great pose and pic. Adding the Gold to the card really makes it classy, too!

bo1

We’ll end the post with a smile! One of the main reasons I wanted to start a card blog was to complete some sets through trading.  Feel free to comment and let me know if you are willing to trade! I will keep on updating my wantlists and what I have for trade in return.

One thought on “Dances With Trades #1 – Tatanka

Leave a Reply

