Literary Libations – Mint Condition

There are times when a good book can become intoxicating. You lose yourself in the moment, fully immersed, needing to get to the next page or the end of the chapter. You NEED to read more.

51IqoN1iXCL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m about halfway though MInt Condition by Dave Jamieson and I definitely feel addicted. Last night a paragraph really hit home.

“There’s something very satisfying about finding and ordering, and it animated Woody’s entire life,” said Spiegelman. “It was what made him want to run that Card Collector’s Company. He understood the collector’s brain. If you have Numbers One and Three and Four, then Number Two becomes very important, even if it’s a player who left baseball after a year to become a stockbroker. I think that that’s what collecting can offer therapeutically, more for boys than girls—a way of understanding the world. Woody’s life was devoted to making some kind of coherent order out of it.”

Jamieson, Dave (2010-04-01). Mint Condition: How Baseball Cards Became an American Obsession (p. 125). Grove/Atlantic, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

After heart surgery and a spout of delirium, I had a very difficult time understanding the world around me at times. I thought I was stuck in a dream. Life didn’t seem real.

Collecting baseball cards has brought me a sense of order and understanding.

As a stay-at-home dad, life can be very stressful at times and since the surgery I’ve noticed my patience has been miniscule. My four-year-old yells, “You are making me FRUSTRATED!” He learned this from me.

Having an orderly hobby seems to center me. I’ve noticed in the past few months I’ve been able to remain calm for longer periods when there is play dough throughout the house and the kids are once again jumping on the bed.

That’s what this blog is about – finding peace, joy and order in the world through The Hobby. I am so thankful that I am.

Leave a Reply

